Matta

Roberto Matta might be my new favorite!  In the spirit of embracing going solo, I went to the Art Institute today for my first day of vacation.  I have to say, going to a museum might be my favorite solo thing to do…you can go at your own pace, skip what you want, and hang out in the same gallery until you’re done looking.

Today my favorite was this piece by Chilean artist Matta:

"The Earth is a Man" Roberto Matta, 1940-1

It’s hard to see the detail in this photo but I could look at it forever.  It kind of drove me crazy (not in a bad way) because I could not figure it out.  I like to imagine how a piece was created when I go to museums and this had so many transparent layers and intertwining shapes that I cannot tell what his process was.  I’m trying to look up more information on him and one article about this painting said it was “vibrating.”  He was a fan of Rene Magritte, Salvador Dali, and Arshile Gorky and moved from Santiago, to Paris, and then eventually to the States in 1933.

Here is some more of his work that I found online.  I wish I could find bigger pictures…

"Invasion of the Night" 1941

"Light Forms" 1940

"On fleur, on oiseau, on" 1940

"On fleur, on oiseau, on" 1940

Maybe you can kind of get the gist.  Although in detail they are much more fascinating.

Here is picture of the new-ish Modern Wing and a few other things I liked.  I spent a lot of time in Asian Art galleries looking at ooooooold pottery.  I took lots of pictures so stay tuned.  Nothing like ancient art to  get you excited about clay again!

I remember loving this one when I came here when I was younger.  It's Japanese earthenware from the 5th-7th century.

I remember loving this one when I came here when I was younger. It's Japanese earthenware from the 5th-7th century.

An installation by Dahn Vo. You can't tell but it's all painted gold.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

